Fredric Aasbo wins Formula Drift Seattle

MONROE, Wash. (July 26, 2015) – Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC driver Fredric Aasbo scored a big win at a dramatic Evergreen Speedway contest this weekend to take the lead in the 2015 Formula Drift championship.

“I’m stoked to win our third event of the season,” said Aasbo. “We managed to keep it cool between crazy battles, where cars were dropping out and hitting the wall left and right.”

The Monroe track features steep banking and rough transitions, and this weekend delivered on its reputation as an unforgiving venue for drifting. Many top-ranked competitors retired early, making for a big shakeup at the top of the points. Ryan Tuerck spun in the Top 32, Ken Gushi was eliminated in the Top 16, and Aasbo got a bye into the Final Four when the clutch on Vaughn Gittin Jr.’s Mustang let go.

With two rounds of competition remaining in the season, Aasbo has a 76-point strong advantage over closest challenger Tuerck. Partner Scion leads the manufacturer’s rankings, while Hankook tire tops the tire championship.

There were a few nervous minutes to the start of the contest for the Papadakis Racing crew. A last-minute engine change saw the driver skip most of practice while his team worked on the car.

“Everybody is pushing the limits this season and, as we ramped up the power for this event, we felt that something wasn’t right,” said team owner Stephan Papadakis. “We decided to change to the backup engine rather than risk having something go wrong. ”

The Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC was in perfect condition to start the contest and Aasbo put down a solid pair of runs to qualify third overall. He advanced cleanly through the early rounds of competition and, when rain began to fall for the final match-ups of the day, Aasbo’s victory was all but assured.

“This was one of those events where growing up in Northern Europe was an advantage,” said Aasbo. “It was a wild rollercoaster of an event and you never knew when it was going to be wet or dry, but our tC is set up to work in all conditions — and that was a big part of our win.”

Following a dry start, the rain began in earnest as Aasbo and Pat Goodin lined up for the battle that would advance one of them to the Final. With the headlights on and windshield wipers running, Aasbo expertly piloted his Scion tC around the slick course — never missing a clipping point. It was more of the same in the Final as Aasbo faced off against the young Alec Hohnadell for the win.

“The soaking wet finals felt just like ice racing on frozen lakes and, despite it being in slow motion, it was a lot of fun,” said Aasbo.

It was the third win of the season for the Papadakis Racing team. Aasbo started the year with victory at the 2015 opener in Long Beach, California, and won again last month at New Jersey’s Wall Speedway. He now leads the U.S. Formula Drift championship as well as the Formula Drift World Series, which includes contests in the United States, Canada, and Asia.

Next, the Formula Drift championship travels to Fort Worth and the Texas Motor Speedway August 21-22 for the penultimate round of the U.S. season, “Showdown.” The next contest in the Formula Drift World Championship is September 7 at Autodrome St. Eustache, near Montreal, Canada.

Drifting is a high-skill, high-powered motorsport with an emphasis on car control skill. Drivers compete in knockout heats on a closed course, sliding sideways in trials judged on speed and style. With origins in Japan, it is the fastest growing form of motorsport in the world.

Papadakis Racing recently released an online video showcasing a full engine build of the team’s 1,000 horsepower Scion tC. It is the latest video on the team’s channel at


Fredric Aasbo returns to Papadakis Racing in 2015 for his fifth season with the team. The Norwegian driver finished the 2014 Formula Drift champion in the runner-up position and “Fan Favorite of the Year” for the third year in a row. Earlier this year, he released the first video in his Dreamride YouTube project, #DreamrideLA.

The two-time Nordic Drifting champion (2007, 2008) made his U.S. debut at a global drifting invitational in 2008 and turned heads when he won the 2010 Formula Drift Rookie of the Year title. He has rapidly progressed through the drifting ranks around the world and has established himself as both a fan favorite and proven championship contender.

Aasbo is originally from Ski, Norway, and now splits his time between his native country and Southern California. He campaigns a full international season, in 2015 running the full Formula Drift schedule as well as select events worldwide in Europe and in Asia.


Team owner Stephan Papadakis is a legend of sport-compact racing who began building his reputation in the 1990s with the first front-wheel-drive, tube-chassis drag car in the U.S.

The team earned multiple records and championships in the discipline, turning in elapsed times and trap speeds previously thought unattainable in front-drive drag cars. Papadakis’ successes in front-wheel drive were matched by his efforts in rear-wheel drive when he campaigned a Civic that became only the fifth car to join the NHRA’s Sport Compact 200 MPH club.

The Papadakis Racing team began drifting in 2005 and has shown impressive results in seven years of Formula Drift competition, earning two championship titles with driver Tanner Foust (2007, 2008). The team finished in the runner-up position in the 2014 championship with driver Fredric Aasbo. The Rockstar Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Scion tC is the team’s latest competition build.


Rockstar Energy Drink (; Hankook Tire (; Scion Racing (; KMC Wheels (; AEM Electronics (; Berk Technology (; SPC Performance (; Gatebil Event ( RS-R (; Torco Advanced Lubricants (; BorgWarner (


Rockstar Energy Drink is designed for those who lead active lifestyles — from athletes to rockstars. Available in over 25 flavors at convenience and grocery outlets in more than 30 countries, Rockstar supports the Rockstar lifestyle across the globe through action sports, motor sports, and live music. For more information visit